Catalogs  >  2005-06 Undergraduate Catalog  >  Addresses of Accrediting Organizations
PDF iconView this information in PDF formatRequires Adobe® Reader®

Addresses of Accrediting Organizations

The University of North Texas is accredited to award bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees by the following:

The Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools
1866 Southern Lane
Decatur, GA 30033-4097
(404) 679-4500

The University of North Texas offers programs approved by the following organizations: 

AACSB International — The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business
777 South Harbour Island Blvd, Suite 750
Tampa, FL 33602
(813) 769-6500

Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology, Inc.
Computing Accreditation Commission
111 Market Place, Suite 1050
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 347-7000

Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology, Inc.
Technology Accreditation Commission
111 Market Place, Suite 1050
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 347-7700

Accreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration (ACPHA)
PO Box 400
Oxford, MD 21654
(410) 226-5527

Accreditation Council for Cooperative Education (ACCE)
Stevens Institute of Technology
Castle Point
Hoboken, NJ 07030
(201) 216-8228

Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications
University of Kansas School of Journalism
Stauffer-Flint Hall1435 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045
(785) 864-3973

American Chemical Society
Committee on Professional Training
1155 Sixteenth Street NW
Washington, DC 20036
(800) 227-5558

American Library Association
50 East Huron Street
Chicago, IL 60611
(800) 545-2433

American Psychological Association
Committee on Accreditation Office of Program Consultation and Accreditation
750 First Street, NE
Washington, DC 20002-4242
(202) 336-5979

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology
10801 Rockville Pike
Rockville, MD 20852
(800) 498-2071

Association for Behavior Analysis, Inc.
1219 South Park Street
Kalamazoo, MI 49001
(269) 492-9310

Commission on English Language Program Accreditation (CEA)
1725 Duke Street, Suite 500
Alexandria, VA 22314
(703) 519-2070

Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)
5999 Stevenson Avenue, 4th Floor
Alexandria, VA 22304
(800) 347-6647 ext. 301

Council on Rehabilitation Education (CORE)
1835 Rohlwing Road, Suite E
Rolling Meadows, IL 60008
(847) 394-1785

Council on Social Work Education
1725 Duke Street, Suite 500
Alexandria, VA 22314-3457
(703) 683-8080

Foundation for Interior Design Education Research
146 Monroe Center NW, Suite 1318
Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2822
(616) 458-0400 x302

National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
1509 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-1426
(800) 424-2460

National Association of Schools of Music
11250 Roger Bacon Drive, Suite 21
Reston, VA 20190
(703) 437-0700

National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration
1120 G Street NW, Suite 730
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 628-8965

National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE)
2010 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Suite 500
Washington, DC 20036-1023
(202) 466-7496

National Recreation and Park Association/American Association of Leisure and Recreation (NRPA/AALR)
Council on Accreditation
22377 Belmont Ridge Road
Ashburn, VA 20148-4501
(703) 858-0784

State Board for Educator Certification
1701 North Congress Avenue, 5th Floor
Austin, TX 78701
(888) 863-5880

Membership in Oak Ridge Associated Universities

Since 1955, students and faculty of the University of North Texas have benefited from UNT’s membership in Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU). ORAU is a consortium of 91 colleges and universities and a contractor for the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) located in Oak Ridge, Tennessee. ORAU works with its member institutions to help their students and faculty gain access to federal research facilities throughout the country; to keep its members informed about opportunities for fellowship, scholarship and research appointments; and to organize research alliances among its members.

Through the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (ORISE), the DOE facility that ORAU operates, undergraduates, graduates and postgraduates, as well as faculty, enjoy access to a multitude of opportunities for study and research. Students can participate in programs covering a wide variety of disciplines including business, earth sciences, epidemiology, engineering, physics, geological sciences, pharmacology, ocean sciences, biomedical sciences, nuclear chemistry, and mathematics. Appointment and program length range from one month to four years. Many of these programs are especially designed to increase the numbers of underrepresented minority students pursuing degrees in science- and engineering-related disciplines. A comprehensive listing of these programs and other opportunities, their disciplines, and details on locations and benefits can be found in the ORISE Catalog of Education and Training Programs, which is available at, or by calling either of the contacts below.

ORAU’s Office of Partnership Development seeks opportunities for partnerships and alliances among ORAU’s members, private industry, and major federal facilities. Activities include faculty development programs, such as the Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards, the Visiting Industrial Scholars Program, consortium research funding initiatives, faculty research, and support programs as well as services to chief research officers.

For more information about ORAU programs, contact the Vice President for Research and Technology Transfer at (940) 369-7487; Monnie E. Champion, ORAU Corporate Secretary, at (865) 576-3306; or the ORAU web site (