The normal load for full-time undergraduate students is 15 semester hours for each semester, or 30 hours during the long session of nine months. Note: For information pertaining to the required semester hours for enrollment verification purposes, refer to "Enrollment Certification" below.
No student may hold a responsible extracurricular office who registers for or earns fewer than 9 hours of college work each semester.
An undergraduate student with a GPA of less than 3.000 may schedule a maximum of 19 hours.
An undergraduate student with a GPA of at least 3.000 may enroll for a maximum of 21 hours under one of the following conditions:
1. at least a 3.000 GPA on a minimum 15-hour residence load for the semester just completed,
2. at least a 3.000 GPA on a minimum 12-hour residence load for the summer session just completed, or
3. at least a 3.000 GPA on all work completed at UNT and a minimum 24 hours of credit in residence.
The normal load for full-time students is 6 semester hours each term or 12 hours for both summer terms.
An undergraduate student with a GPA of less than 3.000 may schedule a maximum of 7 semester hours each term or 14 hours for both summer terms.
An undergraduate student may enroll for a maximum of 15 semester hours during the summer session and a maximum of 9 hours in any one term under either of the following conditions:
1. at least a 3.000 GPA on a minimum 15-hour residence load for the semester just completed, or
2. at least a 3.000 GPA on all work completed at UNT and a minimum 24 hours of credit in residence.
The normal load for full-time students is 3 hours. An undergraduate or graduate student may schedule a maximum of 4 hours in the mini-mester.
The university recommends that students who work full-time not schedule more than 6 semester hours in a semester or 3 hours in a summer term.
Enrollment verification and loan deferments are completed in the Registrar's Office and are based upon a student having registered and paid tuition and fees according to the following criteria. See "Special Conditions for Financial Aid Recipients" in the Financial Information section of this catalog for loan deferment requirements.
Full Time: long semester, 12 or more hours; summer session, 4 to 6 hours per term; mini-mester, 3 to 4 hours.
Three-Quarter Time: long semester, 9 to 11 hours; summer session, 3 hours per term; mini-mester, 2 hours.
Half Time: long semester, 6 to 8 hours; summer session, 2 hours per term; mini-mester, 1 hour.
Full Time: long semester, 9 or more hours; summer session, 3 hours per term; mini-mester, 3 to 4 hours.
Three-Quarter Time: long semester, 6 to 8 hours; summer session, 2 hours per term; mini-mester, 2 hours.
Half Time: long semester, 4 to 5 hours; summer session, 1 hour per term; mini-mester, 1 hour.
Correspondence and extension courses are considered nontraditional credit and are excluded for certification purposes.
International students also may request the International Admissions and Advising Center (IAAC) to issue letters of enrollment for the use of foreign governments, embassies, scholarship agencies and banks. The IAAC is located in Kendall Hall, Rooms 170 and 171.
In January 1999, the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board approved the University of North Texas System Center at Dallas. The center, which will serve southern Dallas and northern Ellis counties, will offer upper-division and graduate-level courses beginning fall 1999, pending funding. The legislature was in session at the time this publication went to press and had not yet acted on the final appropriations bill.
For current information about the University of North Texas System Center at Dallas, consult the UNT Web site (www.unt.edu).
In addition to regular daytime classes, UNT offers evening and weekend on-campus and off-campus residence credit courses and courses at the Universities Center at Dallas, as well as other distance education and Web-based courses. See "Distributed Learning" in the Student Life section of this catalog and the Schedule of Classes (available in print or at www.unt.edu/catsched/).
1. A student in residence who wishes to enroll concurrently in correspondence courses at another accredited institution must first secure the written permission of the student's academic dean at UNT. Failure to obtain advance approval may result in the refusal of the university to accept such work in transfer.
2. Not more than 18 hours of correspondence courses from an accredited institution may be transferred to UNT and used toward a degree program. No more than 30 hours of the total number required for any degree may be earned by a combination of correspondence and extension.
3. A maximum of 6 hours of upper level correspondence work completed in transfer will be accepted toward a degree program at UNT.
4. Graduate credit is not accepted in transfer through correspondence study.
Students who are academically eligible to attend UNT may register for extension courses, which are coordinated by the Center for Continuing Education and Conference Management.
Extension classes may be organized away from the campus when there are enough students to justify classes. Minimum tuition is $50 per semester hour.
The Center for Continuing Education and Conference Management is located in Chilton Hall, Room 289. For additional information, call (940) 565-2600 or write to the director, P.O. Box 310560, Denton, TX 76203-0560.
1. Not more than 30 hours of the total number required for any degree or certificate at UNT may be earned by extension courses.
2. A student who is in residence at UNT may neither enroll for nor continue an extension course without prior written permission from the academic dean. Permission will not be given if the total residence and extension hours exceed the maximum course load. A student enrolling for residence work must notify the academic dean of any extension work in progress at that time. Failure to obtain prior written approval for extension study done while in residence will result in the university's refusal to grant credit.
3. Grades for extension courses are not used in calculating the current or cumulative grade point average.
With the written permission of the department chair and the dean of the college or school in which the course is taught, an individual fully eligible to enroll in the university may attend a class as an auditor without receiving college credit. The auditor's name is not entered on the class roll, and the instructor does not accept any papers, tests or examinations from the auditor.
Attendance as an auditor may not be made the basis of a claim for credit in the course. Auditors pay a fee, which is published in the 1999-2000 Tuition, Fees and Other Charges (available at Student Accounting and University Cashiering Services, formerly Bursar's Office). Only one audit fee is required per semester regardless of the number of courses audited.
Permission cards for auditors are not available during the official registration period but may be requested in the offices of the academic deans after classes begin.
A senior citizen, defined as someone 65 years of age or older, may enroll as an auditor and observer without credit and without payment of an audit fee if space is available and if approved by the department chair and the appropriate dean. Such enrollment entitles the person to library privileges but not instruction in applied music, the use of laboratory equipment and supplies, admission to university-sponsored fine arts and athletic events, or health and hospital benefits.
ASSIST, Access Student Service Information Systems by Technology [Touch-Tone phone (940) 565-3701 or www.admin.unt.edu], is a unique system of menu-driven information available Monday through Friday, 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. During teleregistration and schedule revision, ASSIST is available from 7 a.m. until 10 p.m. Several general information areas are available on ASSIST 23 hours a day, seven days a week. Main menu selections include:
For complete information regarding ASSIST, see the Schedule of Classes for the semester of enrollment. Wallet guides for teleregistration, ASSIST and FAVORS (Financial Aid Voice Response System) are available in the Registrar's Office.
All registration and student requested schedule changes are conducted via teleregistration. Specific information and instructions as well as dates are found in the Schedule of Classes.
Students may call ASSIST (940) 565-3701 to hear information regarding their admission status, open sections and course fees, and payment of their fees by credit card. Students also may listen to and obtain a fax copy of their class schedule and/or grades for a particular semester.
Students who are unable to enroll during the official registration periods must pay an additional fee to enroll late. See the Schedule of Classes for deadline dates.
A student in residence who wishes to enroll concurrently at another college must first secure the written permission of the appropriate dean at UNT. Failure to obtain advance approval may result in the refusal of the university to accept such work in transfer.
Special provisions for avoiding more than one minimum tuition charge are available for students enrolling concurrently in more than one state-supported institution of higher education. Students planning concurrent enrollment are cautioned to check these provisions prior to enrollment in any state institution.
Students enrolling for upper-division undergraduate courses offered by the partner universities of the Universities Center at Dallas (UCD) may enroll at their home institution for courses offered by the other UCD universities.
Five universities cooperate in offering upper-division undergraduate courses and graduate courses at UCD: Texas A&M UniversityCommerce, Texas Woman's University, the University of North Texas, the University of Texas at Arlington and the University of Texas at Dallas. For details call UCD at (214) 744-6600.
For information concerning adding or dropping courses, consult the Schedule of Classes.
Regular and punctual class attendance is expected. Although in general students are graded on intellectual effort and performance rather than attendance, absences may lower the student's grade where class attendance and class participation are deemed essential by the faculty member. In those classes where attendance is considered part of the grade, the instructor should so inform students at the semester's beginning by a written notice. Any instructor who informs students in writing about the necessity of class attendance may request of the Registrar that a student be dropped from the course with a grade of WF upon the accumulation of the stated number of absences. Instructor drops for non-attendance may be processed up to two weeks prior to the first day of final examinations (summer terms, six class days prior to finals; mini-mester, three class sessions prior to finals). Departments and similar academic units have authority to establish a department or course attendance policy, so long as the policy is in accord with the above stipulations.
If the instructor-initiated drop action falls within the time the student is eligible to drop with instructor consent and without penalty, the Registrar's Office notifies the student that a WF will be recorded unless the student initiates the drop procedure, in which case a W will be assigned.
Absences due to participation in sponsored activities must be approved in advance by the department chair and academic dean. Within three days after the absence, students must obtain authorized absence cards from the Dean of Students for presentation to their instructors. Students with authorized absence cards may make up the work missed when practicable or be given special allowance so that they are not penalized for the absence.
In accordance with state law, a student absent due to the observance of a religious holiday may take examinations or complete assignments scheduled for the day missed within a reasonable time after the absence if the student has notified the instructor of each class of the date of the absence within the first 15 days of the semester. Notification must be in writing, either personally delivered with receipt of the notification acknowledged and dated by the instructor, or by certified mail, return receipt requested.
Only holidays or holy days observed by a religion whose place of worship is exempt from property taxation under Section 11.20 of the Tax Code may be included. A student who is excused under this provision may not be penalized for the absence, but the instructor may respond appropriately if the student fails to complete the assignment or examination.
Students who wish to drop a course before the 12th class day (summer term, 4th class day; mini-mester, 2nd class day), may do so in the Registrar's Office or by teleregistration, (940) 387-9646. After the 12th/4th/2nd class day, students must first receive the written consent of the instructor prior to dropping a course. The instructor may withhold consent for students to drop for any reason provided the instructor has informed students in writing at the beginning of the semester. Students applying for financial aid are required to notify Student Financial Aid and Scholarships before dropping any class to learn how it will affect current or future financial aid eligibility.
The grade of W is recorded for any course dropped with the instructor's consent prior to the end of
the sixth week of classes (summer term,
eight class sessions; mini-mester, four class sessions). After that time, the student must have
a passing grade for the instructor to assign a grade of W for a dropped course; otherwise, the grade
WF is recorded.
Instructors may drop students with grades of WF from courses for nonattendance at any time after
the completion of the sixth week of classes (summer term, eight class sessions; mini-mester, four class sessions). See "Class Attendance" in this section.
No student may drop any course after Tuesday
of a given semester's 10th week (summer term,
15 class sessions; mini-mester, four class sessions).
Drop procedures must be completed by 5 p.m.
on the deadline dates specified in the Academic Calendar. After these dates, a student may not drop a course for any reason.
See the Schedule of Classes for drop procedure and instructions.
A student may withdraw from UNT at any time prior to two weeks before the first day of final examinations (summer term, six class sessions prior to finals; mini-mester, three class sessions prior to finals) by making a request in the Registrar's Office. For withdrawals processed prior to the end of the sixth week of classes (summer term, eight class sessions; mini-mester, four class sessions), the grade of W is recorded for each course in which a withdrawn student was enrolled. After the sixth week of classes (summer term, eight class sessions; mini-mester, four class sessions), a withdrawn student receives grades of W only for those courses in which there were passing grades at the time of withdrawal; otherwise, the grade WF is recorded.
Official dates and deadlines for withdrawing are specified in the Academic Calendar.
So that students can adequately prepare for their final examinations, special rules apply to the seven calendar days preceding the final week of each fall and spring semester. Student organizations do not meet; activities requiring student participation such as field trips, athletic events, or performances by dance, drama or music ensembles are not scheduled unless approved in advance by the appropriate dean. Themes, reports, notebooks, research problems or exercises of similar scope are not to be assigned during this period, but students may submit previously assigned work.
Only examinations covering daily assignments, makeup tests or laboratory examinations may be given. Faculty members shall not give any portion of the final examination during this seven-day period without advance approval from their academic dean.
On the Thursday and Friday of the week immediately preceding final exams, review classes shall be held. Furthermore, attendance at these reviews cannot be made mandatory and there will be no papers, projects, exams, quizzes, or like assignments due on those days. Makeup exams will be permitted to take place. The above policy will not be applicable to classes that meet only once a week and meet on Thursday or Friday.
Faculty members are expected to administer final examinations at the designated times during the final week of each long semester and on the specified day of each summer term or mini-mester. Any deviation from the published schedule of final examinations must be approved in advance by the appropriate academic dean. If a final examination is not given in a particular course, the faculty member is expected to utilize the final examination period for summary, evaluation or other productive purposes. Students who have three final examinations scheduled on one day may appeal to their academic dean to reschedule one of those examinations on another day during the final examination period.
Commencement exercises are held in December, May and August. Diplomas are mailed to candidates after graduation has been verified.
Top | Undergraduate Catalog General Information | UNT Undergraduate Catalog Shortcuts | Additional Undergraduate Literature